web analytics

Film & Blu-ray Reviews

Mozart: Die Entführung aus dem Serail [Camerata Salzburg/Graf] Blu-ray Review

Posted August 16th, 2014 by Lawrence D. Devoe, MD

Mozart: Die Entführung aus dem Serail [Camerata Salzburg/Graf] Blu-ray Review

Mozart’s comic opera receives a makeover in an airplane hangar with modern dress, plot adjustments, and uneven vocal performances.

Richard Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos [Glyndebourne Festival/Jurowski] Blu-ray Review

Posted August 14th, 2014 by Lawrence D. Devoe, MD

Richard Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos [Glyndebourne Festival/Jurowski] Blu-ray Review

One of Richard Strauss’ vocal masterpieces, this Ariadne auf Naxos has its vocal strengths but is undermined by some bizarre dramaturgy.

Official Shop of Warner Bros

Short Peace Blu-ray Review

Posted August 13th, 2014 by Brandon A. DuHamel

Short Peace Blu-ray Review

Short Peace, an anthology of anime short films, is groundbreaking in its visual styles and approaches to storytelling

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 Blu-ray 3D/Blu-ray Review

Posted August 12th, 2014 by Brandon A. DuHamel

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 Blu-ray 3D/Blu-ray Review

The second entry in the rebooted web slinger franchise, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 offers up lots of exaggerated action sequences and splendid visuals.

Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! [Criterion Collection] Blu-ray Review

Posted August 11th, 2014 by Brandon A. DuHamel

Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! [Criterion Collection] Blu-ray Review

Almodóvar’s controversial romance Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down! gets a beautiful Criterion Collection Dual Format release

WataMote: Complete Collection Blu-ray Review

Posted August 10th, 2014 by Brandon A. DuHamel

WataMote: Complete Collection Blu-ray Review

Social anxiety is captured with a groundbreaking animation style in the darkly comedic anime series, WataMote

Nature: Fabulous Frogs Blu-ray Review

Posted August 10th, 2014 by Brandon A. DuHamel

Nature: Fabulous Frogs Blu-ray Review

Wonderfully presented by Sir David Attenborough, Fabulous Frogs is another gorgeously filmed episode of long-running PBS’ series Nature

Lost for Life (2014) Movie Review

Posted August 10th, 2014 by Tim Baros

Lost for Life (2014) Movie Review

Lost for Life is a powerful documentary on juveniles who murder — and the lives they ruin.

Hidden Kingdoms Blu-ray Review

Posted August 10th, 2014 by Brandon A. DuHamel

Hidden Kingdoms Blu-ray Review

Go inside the world of tiny creatures and see it from their perspective in the fascinating BBC nature series Hidden Kingdoms on Blu-ray

Wagner: Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg [Salzburg Festival/Gatti] Blu-ray Review

Posted August 8th, 2014 by Lawrence D. Devoe, MD

Wagner: Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg [Salzburg Festival/Gatti] Blu-ray Review

Director Herheim’s reinvention of Wagner’s Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg sheds new light with this production, well conducted and well sung.